RSS Feed

Fun With the Brayer!

Posted on

Brayer

Some time ago, I bought a Brayer.  I tore it out of its package and thought to myself….”hmmmmm, where do I start?”.  It sat on my desk for a while…it moved around…..and then eventually it moved into a drawer.  Not until a few weeks ago did I stop before closing my drawer, and pick it up.  I set it on my desk and decided it was time to work with it.  I’m not sure why I was so hesitant.  I think it was mostly because I’d never worked with one.  So I pulled out some paper and decided to give it a go.  Here’s one of the projects I did using the Brayer.

Brayer_HeyThereFriend

The thing that I love the most about the Brayer is the Gradient effects you can create.  They can look so pretty as a backdrop or you can turn it into a feature point.  Above, I used two of the new “In-Colours” – Blackberry Bliss and Hello Honey.  (Full list of supplies at bottom).

Once I had the gradient thing figured out (I won’t say Mastered ’cause I sure haven’t mastered it yet!), I thought, why not try something with Blues – which then became, “let’s do a night scene”!!! 
Brayer_InProgress

Above is the In progress shot.  You can see where the Brayer rolled over some uneven areas on my mat but it actually made me think of Northern lights.  I masked out the moon using the 1 3/8″ circle punch and then stamped a set of trees from the set “Lovely As A Tree” in Black.

Brayer_ThinkingOfYou

 

Once the trees were stamped on, I dabbed the moon with some Crumb Cake colouring and added the “stars” using the Dazzling Details.  Lastly, I embossed the sentiment “Thinking of You” from the Sassy Salutations Stamp set in Silver.  This card face was then mounted on a piece of Lost Lagoon Card stock as the mat border and then on to Island Indigo card stock.

There’s so much more you could do with this scene but I opted to keep it simple.  Thinking I might very well try a sunset version of this!!  😉

Thanks for stopping by!  Feel free to drop a comment and let me know what you think!

Check back soon!

 

For the above Cards, here’s the list of supplies used:

“HEY THERE FRIEND”

**The Directional Stamp at the bottom is from the “Glittered Greetings” Paper Pumpkin Kit and the Arrow Paper clip at the top is now retired.  😦

***The Sentiment and Splatter Stamps came from the “Hey There” Paper Pumpkin Kit – Item #132599

“THINKING OF YOU”
**I used “Not Quite Navy” Ink however that one is now retired.  I’ve included “Night Of Navy” below as I feel this would work just as well.
Leave a Reply

